Germany's Eintracht Frankfurt beat Scottish side Rangers 5-4 on penalties on Wednesday to win the Europa League final and claim their first European trophy in 42 years.

The match finished 1-1 after 90 minutes and extra-time. Japan's Daichi Kamada and four other Eintracht players all scored from the spot, with only Rangers' Aaron Ramsey off target.

Eintracht's former Japan captain Makoto Hasebe came off the bench in the 58th minute.

Eintracht Frankfurt players celebrate after winning the Europa League on May 18, 2022, in Sevilla, Spain. (Kyodo)

It was the first time in 20 years that a team consisting of one or more players from Japan won the second-tier competition of European club football.

Dutch club Feyenoord, featuring Shinji Ono, won the UEFA Cup in 2002. The UEFA Cup was renamed the Europa League in the 2009-2010 season.

For Eintracht, the victory saw them qualify for the Champions League next season despite finishing 11th in the Bundesliga.

Related coverage:

Football: Wataru Endo's late winner ensures Bundesliga survival for Stuttgart

Football: Maeda, Furuhashi help Celtic tighten grip on title

Football: Kamada plays key role as Eagles soar into Europa League final