The U.S. Treasury Department on Monday banned transactions with the Russian central bank, the Finance Ministry and a Russian sovereign wealth fund in response to the country's invasion of Ukraine.

The action effectively freezes any assets of the Central Bank of the Russian Federation held in the United States, the department said.