Foreign ministers from the Group of 20 major economies urged the Taliban Islamist group, which took control of Afghanistan last month, to accept international humanitarian aid and implement measures against terrorism in a meeting Wednesday, the U.S. government said.

The online meeting arranged by Italy, which holds the rotating presidency of the G-20 this year, highlighted joint efforts by the group that includes China and Russia to address problems faced by Afghanistan, such as safe evacuations of locals wishing to leave the war-torn country.

Officials hoist flags of the Group of 20 nations on June 28, 2019, at the Intex Osaka convention center, the venue of a two-day G-20 summit starting the same day. (Kyodo) ==Kyodo

"The international community is united in its expectations for the Taliban to adhere to their commitments," U.S. Secretary of State Antony Blinken said on Twitter.

The United Nations and other organizations have warned of food shortages and a lack of basic services affecting daily life in Afghanistan. It is also feared that human rights, particularly for women and children, could be infringed upon by the Taliban, given its record of governance.

Japanese Foreign Minister Toshimitsu Motegi, who attended the G-20 meeting while in New York, said the global community should urge the Islamist group to respect diverse ethnic and sectarian voices in political processes as well as women's rights.

The minister reiterated Japan's plan to offer some $200 million in aid to Afghanistan and the surrounding countries by the end of the year, according to the Japanese Foreign Ministry.

Indian External Affairs Minister Subrahmanyam Jaishankar said the Taliban should keep its promise that Afghanistan would not be used as a base for a terrorist movement again, while Chinese Foreign Minister Wang Yi called for the lifting of "unilateral sanctions" on the conflict-ravaged country.

The Italian government aims to arrange an emergency summit of the G-20 leaders after annual speeches at the U.N. General Assembly through next Monday, according to sources familiar with the matter.

The G-20 groups Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Britain, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United States and the European Union.