The Japanese government said Friday travelers from Egypt will be required to spend the first six days of their 14-day quarantine in state-designated facilities to prevent the spread of the highly contagious coronavirus variant first detected in India.

In a string of border control changes effective Monday, the government said travelers from Latvia and five U.S. states -- Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Louisiana and Washington -- will be asked to stay in designated facilities for three days.

Travelers from Bangladesh, however, will be required to stay at such facilities for six days, down from 10 days.

It will also lift the requirement for travelers from Finland, Poland and three U.S. states -- Oklahoma, California and Nebraska -- to stay at designated facilities for three days.

All other travelers must still observe a 14-day self-isolation period after entering Japan as the country continues to take steps to contain infections.