Japan said Wednesday it will tighten border controls on travelers from the four U.S. states of Tennessee, Florida, Michigan and Minnesota, as well as India and Peru in response to the spread of new variants of the coronavirus detected there.

The new measure, to be effective from Saturday, requires people traveling from those areas to quarantine in a designated facility and take a COVID-19 test on the third day after their arrival.

If testing negative, they will be asked to leave the facility without using public transportation and self-quarantine at home or other locations for 14 days.

They also need to submit negative results from virus tests taken within 72 hours prior to their departure and take another test upon arrival.

At present, Japan bans all entry of nonresident foreigners except for those given approval under "special exceptional circumstances."

The latest additions join the 29 countries and areas that have been subject to stricter quarantine measures.

The 29 are Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Britain, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Lebanon, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Nigeria, Pakistan, Poland, the Philippines, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine and the United Arab Emirates, as well as the Canadian province of Ontario.