Prime Minister Shinzo Abe said Wednesday that Japan will bar foreign travelers from China's Zhejiang Province effective Thursday, in an additional measure to contain the global coronavirus outbreak.

Entry will also be denied to holders of Chinese passports issued in the eastern Chinese province.

Japan has already taken a similar step targeting visitors from Hubei Province whose provincial capital is Wuhan, the epicenter of the outbreak.

<more details>

Related coverage:

Raging coronavirus from China named COVID-19 by WHO

G-20 to focus on impact of coronavirus on global economy

Japan torn over whether to test all on cruise ship for coronavirus