East Asian Football Federation President Kozo Tashima said Thursday that North Korea will not be awarded any prize money in the upcoming E-1 Football Championship, citing international tensions around the country.

"Considering the international situation and the United Nations resolutions, (the EAFF) decided that we cannot pay," said Tashima, who is also the president of the Japan Football Association.

Both Chinese and South Korean associations agreed with the decision, which has been reported to North Korean representatives.

North Korea, which continues to develop nuclear weapons and ballistic missiles, is under pressure from the international community which has levied sanctions on the country through U.N. Security Council resolutions.

The winner of the men's tournament will take home $250,000, while the women's champion will earn $70,000. Prize money was also to be awarded to all other teams before the decision.